Thursday, April 19, 2012

FLCC honor society welcomes 78 students, recognizes teachers

Phi Theta Kappa Induction Ceremony
Seventy-eight Finger Lakes Community College students were inducted into Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society for two-year colleges, during a ceremony on March 29.

As part of the ceremony, Phi Theta Kappa also recognized a high school teacher from each of the four counties in the FLCC service area – Ontario, Seneca, Wayne and Yates – and one FLCC faculty member for their dedication to students.

Members of the honor society nominated high school teachers who affected them profoundly, challenged or nurtured them, and pushed them to do their best work. In addition, Phi Theta Kappa alumni were asked to nominate an FLCC faculty member. A committee of honor society members reviewed the nominations and recommended the following for 2012 Distinguished Educator Awards:

Richard Larkin, associate professor of hotel/resort management, has taught at FLCC for 24 years. Recipient of the Student Choice Employee of the Year Award in 1999, Larkin was nominated by FLCC alumnus Edward VanStine, who wrote: “There are so many words to describe Richard Larkin: educator, mentor, enthusiast, entrepreneur, leader, loyal, passionate, courteous and friend are just a few that come to mind.”

Ann S. Paige, a chemistry teacher at Penn Yan Academy for 23 years, was honored for her ability to connect with her students. FLCC student Jacqueline Stryker, who nominated Paige, wrote: “She was always doing experiments that taught us the material; it was fun and entertaining.”

Karen Fahy teaches ninth grade English and Advanced Placement Literature and Composition in the Geneva City School District. In her 14 years at the district, she has also taught FLCC Gemini courses, which allow high school students to get college credit. FLCC student Maddie D’Amico nominated Fahy, writing: “She cared about each and every student and wanted us to succeed.”

Molly Fleckenstein, a middle and high school English teacher for the Newark School District for the last 23 years, was nominated by FLCC student Rebecca Deline. “Even if I wanted to work to be ‘good enough,’ she always prompted far more. Mrs. Fleckenstein was wonderful in more ways than one,” Deline wrote.

Kimberly Hunt, who currently teaches sixth grade science at Waterloo Middle School, previously taught English to Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL). FLCC student Gaoping Lin nominted Hunt, noting that she not only helped him learn the language but American culture as well. “Ms. Hunt made a lasting impression on me since I arrived in the United States,” he wrote.

Phi Theta Kappa’s hallmarks are scholarship, leadership, service and fellowship. FLCC’s chapter, Alpha Epsilon Chi, was chartered in 1981 and provides leadership, service and scholarship opportunities for members. Membership requires completion of 15 hours of associate degree coursework and a GPA of 3.5. Phi Theta Kappa members also serve as campus ambassadors.

New members are as follows, listed by county and town:

Elmira: Frederick Valkenburgh

Fairport: Charlene Fritz, Martha Gay Stewart, James Weidman
Pittsford: Lauren Manser
Rochester: John Dimuro, Justin Rhody, Douglas Moorefield
West Henrietta: Kyla Edelman

Bloomfield: Kelsey Castro, John Fischer, Lindsey Gales, Erica Taylor, Jean Winton
Canandaigua: Allison Baker, Brandy Briggs, Stacy Brockett, Eric Fiegl, Andrew Henry, Christine Kubli, Maxwell Negley, Melissa Norvell, Daniel Pontera, John Rizzo, Michael Rizzo, Susan Shively, Amy Stockdale, Amy Taylor
Farmington: Travis Brill, Deborah Fenn, Troy Knapp, Brandon Martinez, Hannah Zollweg
Geneva: Necia Bray, Christina Christensen, Maddie D'Amico, Joshua Davila, Sydney Hurley, Lisa Kindel, Kathleen Maney, Marlene Maney, Joseph Marino,
Erin Rooks, Cassandra Snyder, Daneda Westfall
Manchester: Jason Woodard
Naples: Dylan Bloom, Stacey Santee
Phelps: Tanya Baker, Melissa Miller
Shortsville: Media Gann, Janice Helm, Karen Rioch
Victor: James Axmacher, Donna Mihalik

Cicero: Brett Bock, James Froio

Holley: Julie Brooks

Lodi: Amanda Stack
Seneca Falls: Tristan Andrews

Prattsburgh: Kerry Lipp
Wayland: Sean Cotter

Ithaca: Tyler Barriere

Lyons: Victoria Barner, Michele Derenzo
Macedon: Allison O'Brien
Marion: Lisa Dye
Newark: Rebecca Deline, Isaac Henkel, Erin Lowery, Mary Pudlowski
Williamson: Hannah Barrett

Branchport: Johnathon Presher, Cheryl White
Penn Yan: Christian Erb, Robert Impey
Rushville: Garrett Hartman

No comments:

Post a Comment