Tuesday, November 9, 2010

Phi Theta Kappa welcomes 73 new members

Thirty-nine of the 73 new members joined several current members for a group photo after the FLCC Phi Theta Kappa induction ceremony on Oct. 10. For more photos, go to the FLCC Flickr site by clicking here.
Seventy-three students from Finger Lakes Community College were inducted into Phi Theta Kappa, the international honor society of the two-year college, on Oct. 10.

Phi Theta Kappa officers Elizabeth Pfaff, president; Ellen Martin, vice-president; Theodore Aguglia, secretary; and Maria Zeh, public relations secretary, conducted the ceremony. 

Joseph Nairn, executive assistant to the president, delivered the keynote address, and alumnus William Bendschneider ’91 gave a motivational speech urging the new inductees to take advantage of the opportunities Phi Theta Kappa offers. Co-advisor Doug Albert, assistant professor of computing sciences, was made an honorary member for his service and dedication to the organization.

Phi Theta Kappa’s hallmarks are scholarship, leadership, service and fellowship. FLCC’s chapter, Alpha Epsilon Chi, was chartered in 1981 and provides leadership opportunities for members.  Membership requires completion of 15 hours of associate degree course work and a GPA of 3.5. Service projects long associated with the FLCC chapter include the holiday angel tree, Relay for Life, sustainability and recycling and Adopt-a-Highway.  Phi Theta Kappa students also serve as campus ambassadors.

New members are as follows:

Hume: Courtney J. Swain

Lakewood: Chelsea L. Borowski

Caledonia: Brenna L. Osborn, Kathryn E. Stein
Hemlock: Megan E. Judd

East Rochester: Gene Snyder
Fairport: Brian D. Cole
Honeoye Falls: Luke R. Conley, Victoria A. DeVries
Rochester: Kara Ann Lokot, Blaze Peter Veljovski
Webster: Stephen P. Nicholson

Bloomfield: Ayse L. Dura, David K. Gillette, James L. Norman
Canandaigua:  Laci J. Barnett, Shayne D. Barry, Carlye M. Cole, Jason M. Conklin, Betsye A. Pender, Andreas G. Petrou, Julianna G. Price, MacKenzie C. Russell, Christen Mary Smith, Taylor S. Weeks, Anna  Wessel
Clifton Springs: Cecilia M. Roth
Farmington: Brett J. Bigler, David G. Kirk
Geneva: Christine L. Fazio, Charity L. McCann, Nina L. Pitifer, Michael W. Rosato, Barbara A. Singleton, Dana A. Spencer, Ryan A. Wickens
Shortsville: Karrah Elizabeth Bruder
Stanley: Adam A. Farley, Jordan R. Hathorn
Victor: George I. Churchill, Nike Detlefsen, Stephanie M. Richards

Seneca Falls: Kyle R. Burton, Jessica L. Dean
Waterloo: Brittany M. Card, Jennifer E. Cole

Hornell: Jacqueline A. Kerr
Wayland: Megan R. Koch

Clyde: Traci A. Brooks
Lyons: Jennifer A. Coleman
Macedon: June LaRose
Marion: Stephanie M. Brannan
Newark: Travis J. Mallaber, Shawn A. Murray, Elizabeth R. Norcott,  Ryan K. Parker, Shawn D. Richman, Ira D. Smith, Rebecca J Vermeulen
Palmyra: Joy N. Compton, Elizabeth M. Leisten, Jasmine O. Mead
Savannah: Lyndsie E. Harper
Sodus: Mindy M. Eiseman
Walworth: Brian A. Rich

Middlesex: Olivia M. Lamphier
Penn Yan: Megan M. Finger, Jonathan T. Jensen, Edwin H. Laursen Jr., Kimberly Lynn Nelson, Stacey M. Offen
Rushville: Ryan W Hobart

Warsaw: Morgan Wells

No comments:

Post a Comment