Tuesday, November 16, 2010

FLCC Foundation names officers, welcomes new board members

The Finger Lakes Community College Foundation recently welcomed eight new members to its board of directors: Susan "Sudy" Landholm of Canandaigua, Elaine M. Jackson of Canandaigua, Ronald R. Parrish of Bloomfield, Daye A. Parsons of Stanley, Christopher J. Rockwell of Walworth, Doreen L. Secor of Geneva, Thomas M. Sexton of Fairport and Craig R. Welch of Canandaigua.

Their three-year terms began July 1, 2010.

The board of directors also elected the following officers: Chairman Stephen R. Martin, vice president of public relations and marketing at Canandaigua National Bank and Trust Co.; Vice Chairman Donald J. Culeton, president and CEO of Info Directions; and Secretary Ethan S. Fogg '00, director of community relations and foundation for Clifton Springs Hospital & Clinic.

Governed by an all-volunteer board, the FLCC Foundation’s mission is to seek financial support from the private sector for the college.

Below are brief biographies of each new member:

Susan “Sudy” Landholm is associate professor of physical education at Finger Lakes Community College. She was an adjunct faculty member from 1984 to 1988 and joined the full-time faculty in 1988. At FLCC, she was the coordinator for the Gladys M. Snyder Center for Teaching Excellence from fall 2001 through spring 2005. She served as the head tennis coach at William Smith College from 1986 to 1989 and was head of the auxiliaries for the Bristol Mountain Ski Patrol from 1980 to 1996.

Elaine M. Jackson, director of corporate communications for Thompson Health, has more than 30 years of experience as a marketing professional, including 17 years in Boston area high-tech industries. She served on the Canandaigua Chamber of Commerce board of directors from 1997 to 2005 and was chair of the board in 2005. In 1999, she received the William Mitchell Award in recognition of outstanding volunteer work on behalf of the chamber.

Ronald R. Parrish began his accounting career in 1977 at Parrish and Brassie, LLP and is now a partner with the law firm. He is licensed as a certified public accountant and also as a certified management accountant. He is active in the New York Society of CPAs and the Bloomfield Rotary Club. He graduated from Rochester Institute of Technology with an accounting degree from the E. Philip Saunders College of Business.

Daye A. Parsons ’93 is a telecommunications account executive for Finger Lakes Technologies Group and was previously a portfolio sales executive for Unisys Corporation. She has a bachelor's degree in business management with a concentration in marketing from St. John Fisher College.

Christopher J. Rockwell ’94 is director of global environmental, health and safety excellence for Garlock Sealing Technologies’ 17 manufacturing operations and was previously an environmental engineer for Canandaigua Wine Co. He was the recipient of Rochester Business Journal Environmental Leadership Award in 2008 for a solvent elimination project and oversaw the fastest start-to-finish Brownfield cleanup project in New York.

Doreen L. Secor ’88 is a human resources advisor for FedEx Express and has 20 years of experience in human resources, recruitment and training. She has a master’s degree in business administration, with a concentration in human resource management/human resource information systems from SUNY Albany.

Thomas M. Sexton is the president of Campus Construction Management Group Inc., an employee-owned firm that provides construction management services to the education sector. He is a graduate of Alfred State College and has been actively involved in the construction industry for more than 30 years. Sexton currently sits on the board of directors with Camp Good Days and Special Times, and was previously on the Monroe County Special Olympics Board of Directors.

Craig R. Welch is a partner with the Lacy Katzen LLP law firm and managing partner of the Canandaigua office. He is currently chairman of the business and corporate department for the firm. He has served as the town of Mendon Planning Board attorney since 1994 and is a founding member and member of the board of directors for the Dennis Morga Memorial Fund.

The FLCC Foundation is a not-for-profit charitable corporation established to seek financial support for the college from the private sector. The Foundation accepts donations for scholarships, equipment purchases, special projects and faculty development. For more information, please contact the Foundation at (585) 785-1541 or foundation@flcc.edu.

No comments:

Post a Comment